Apprentice for a day

“Circuit board”, “SMD component”, “wave soldering system” – all these terms as well as their meaning Abdul learns about today. The 20-year-old Syrian attends “One day apprentice”. The event organized by the Junior Chamber International Germany (JCI) addresses people from twelve to 26 years who have difficulties positioning themselves on the employment and training market and is part of the alliance “1000 Chances”.

Johannes shows him what it means to be an apprentice. He is training to be an electronics technician for devices and systems at Budelmann Elektronik GmbH. Prior to his apprenticeship Johannes also gained work experience during mandatory school internships. Today he shows Abdul how to solder SMD components on a circuit board by hand.

“It is not only important to us that Abdul can find out about the job, requirements and people, but also that Johannes can show him his tasks and daily work life on equal terms, so that both will have gained experience at the end of the day”, says managing director Jeannine Budelmann.

“We would also like to motivate other companies to give disadvantaged young people with difficult professional backgrounds a chance”, explains Ms. Budelmann who is member of JCI North Westphalia and on the executive board of JCI North Rhine-Westphalia, leading the department “Innovation and resources”.

And who knows, maybe Abdul will come back for an internship or even an apprenticeship after this trial-day.

Ein Tag Azubi

„Platine“, „SMD-Bauteil“, „Wellenlötanlage“ – all diese Begriffe und deren Bedeutung lernt Abdul heute kennen. Der 20-jährige Syrer nimmt an „Ein Tag Azubi“ teil. Der Aktionstag der Wirtschaftsjunioren Deutschland am 22. November richtet sich an junge Menschen im Alter von 12 bis 26 Jahren mit schwierigen Ausgangsbedingungen auf dem Arbeits- und Ausbildungsmarkt und ist Teil des Aktionsbündnisses „1000 Chancen“.

Was es heißt, Azubi zu sein, zeigt ihm Johannes, der eine Ausbildung zum Elektroniker für Geräte und Systeme bei der Budelmann Elektronik GmbH macht. Zuvor hatte Johannes selbst Schulpraktika im Unternehmen absolviert und sich dann für eine Ausbildung entschieden. Heute zeigt er Abdul unter Anderem, wie man Bauteile auf eine Platine lötet.

„Wichtig ist uns, dass nicht nur Abdul in einen Beruf hineinschnuppern kann, sondern auch unser Azubi Johannes ihm auf Augenhöhe seinen Tätigkeitsbereich erklärt und Berufsalltag zeigt“, so Geschäftsführerin Jeannine Budelmann. So seien beide am Ende des Tages um eine wichtige Erfahrung reicher.

Man wolle auch andere Unternehmen motivieren, jungen Menschen mit schwierigen beruflichen Ausgangsbedingungen eine Chance zu geben und mit solchen Aktionstagen eine Rahmenbedingung dafür schaffen, erklärt Jeannine Budelmann, die Mitglied der WJ Nord Westfalen und im Landesvorstand der WJ NRW im Ressort „Innovation und Ressourcen“ ist. Und wer weiß, vielleicht ergibt sich über diesen Schnuppertag für Abdul auch ein längeres Praktikum oder sogar ein Ausbildungsverhältnis.

Mehr Informationen zum Aktionstag finden Sie unter: https://www.1000-chancen.de/ein-tag-azubi/so-gehts